COLUMBIA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS BOARD MEETING

MINUTES

December 12, 2012

The Columbia County Board of Commissioners met in scheduled session with Commissioner Anthony Hyde, Commissioner Earl Fisher and Commissioner Henry Heimuller, together with Sarah Hanson, County Counsel and Jan Greenhalgh, Board Office Administrator.

Commissioner Hyde called the meeting to order and led the flag salute.

MINUTES:

Commissioner Heimuller moved and Commissioner Hyde seconded to approve the minutes of the December 5, 2012 Board meeting and December 5, 2012 Staff meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

VISITOR COMMENTS:

None.

CONSENT AGENDA:

Commissioner Hyde read the consent agenda in full. Item (C) was approved on 12/5/12 and therefore pulled. With no other changes/additions, Commissioner Heimuller moved and Commissioner Fisher seconded to approve the consent agenda as follows:

(A) Ratify the Select to Pay for weeks of 12/10/12.

- (B) Order No. 50-2012, "In the Matter of the Application of Kristen Dreyer for a Major Variance to Kennel Setback Standard (V 12-01) and for a Conditionally Permitted Home Occupation in the Primary Forest (PF-80) Zone (CU 12-09)".
- (C) Order No. 51-2012, "In the Matter of Approving Title III Projects for FFY 2013 under the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000 as Amended and Re-authorized by Public Law 110-343 and Public Law 112-141". (Previously approved on 12/5/12).
- (D) Order No. 52-2012, "In the Matter of an Application by Priscilla Jauron, et al., for a Property Line Adjustment of Two 2-Acre Parcels Created Under Measure 49".
- (E) Appoint Mary Ann Guess to the Columbia County Fair Board, Position #3, for a three (3) year term.
- (F) Appoint Henry Collins to the Columbia County Fair Board, complete the term of Jill Olson Position #6, term to expire January 1, 2015.
- (G) Reappoint Dave Carpenter, Jeff Dickerson, Rosemary Lohrke, Steve Salle, Ray Scholl and Aubrey Webster to the Columbia County Traffic Safety Committee for a three year term.
- (H) Reappoint Carol Brandt, Woody Davis, Earl Fisher, Stan Mendenhall and Joan Youngberg to the Commission on Children & Families for a 4 year term.
- (I) Create the Public Event & Mass Gathering Ordinance Review Task Force and appoint David Teuscher, Jennifer Crawford, Wendy Ingraham, Britt Steele, Jon Hanken, Lisa Edgar, Sheriff Dickerson and Sergeant Yvette Shephard for a one year term.
- (J) Authorize Commissioner Fisher to sign the County's Representation letter to Pauly, Rogers.
- (K) Authorize the Chair to sign the Management Discussion and Analysis section of the FY12 County Audit.

AGREEMENTS/CONTRACTS/AMENDMENTS:

- (L) Columbia County Art Release Agreement with Dianne Mebert; Barbara Hughes; and Sierra Mills.
- (M) Approve Right-of-Way Easement for electrical power with Clatskanie People's Utility District for Clatskanie Transit Center and authorize the Chair to sign.

The motion carried unanimously.

COMMISSIONER HYDE COMMENTS:

Commissioner Hyde attended the AOC meeting in Salem on Monday to discuss legislative issues and the over 200 bills suggested for introduction. There was some discussions with the Governor on Monday on the possibility of losing the Nike expansion, as 4 other states are vying for that. Part of the special session on Friday will give the Governor more ability to negotiate the project.

As a Board member, he attended the NACo meeting in Memphis last week. There is a new Director, Nat Chase, who is very well qualified with a focus on economic development. Priorities were set for the 113th Congress. Friday and Saturday were spent stratagizing about the organization itself.

COMMISSIONER FISHER COMMENTS:

Not present.

COMMISSIONER HEIMULLER COMMENTS:

Commissioner Heimuller wanted to offer condolences to all those effected by the shooting in Clackamas County. Our thoughts and prayers go out to all and to those responding agencies.

He attended the annual RSVP Christmas Holiday party last week. It was very well attended and a lot of support was shown for this program. Sally Norbom was there and although her health is failing, she is still involved.

As for the NACo organization just reported on by Commissioner Hyde, it should be noted that Tillamook County Commissioner Tim Josi is running for 2^{nd} Vice President. We all appreciate and support his efforts in this.

Commissioner Heimuller stated that Todd Dugdale, LDS Director, is the President of the Kiwanis this year and he has been working tirelessly on the holiday food drive. Kudos to him and all of those involved in making this a very successful event.

The County holiday luncheon today is a way to acknowledge our employees and express our appreciation for such a great workforce who has struggled through some tough times.

EMPLOYEE SERVICE RECOGNITION AWARDS:

The Board recognized the following employees with service awards for their years of service to Columbia County: Rod Hansen (10); Jim Sychowski (10); Brooke McDowall (10) years; Robert

BOC Minutes 12/12/12 Page 4

Crain (10); Linda Duffy (10); Marsha Rush (10); Janet Wright (10); Mike Dunning (10); Gloria Rice (15); Lonny Welter (15); Sheryl Westfall (15); Ryan Allen (15); Roger Beardsley (15); Tony Hyde (15); Jeff Patterson (20); Jackie Welter (20); Dale Anderson (20); Cherie Moylan (25); Joe Flori (35).

The Board then presented Jeff Hill, Road Department, with a retirement plaque for 9 years of service to Columbia County.

Lastly, the Board announced that the Juvenile Department is the winner of the Holiday Hope Food drive competition. A traveling plaque will reside in the Juvenile Department until next year. Commissioner Heimuller gave another shout out to Todd Dugdale, President of Kiwanis this year for his very hard work on this project. He is the one who actually brought this competition to the county employees last year.

The following names were drawn from the top ten individuals who donated food/cash to the Holiday Hope Food Drive for a personal parking space at the Courthouse. Tristan Wood, Lonny Welter and Robin McIntyre. As Tristan and Lonny work out at the Road Department, the space was awarded to Robin McIntyre.

There was no Executive Session held.

With nothing further coming before the Board, the meeting was adjourned.

Dated at St. Helens, Oregon this 12th of December, 2012.

NOTE: A tape of this meeting is available for purchase by the public or interested parties.

	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON
	By:
	Anthony Hyde, Chair
	By: Not Present Earl Fisher, Commissioner
By:	
Jan Greenhalgh	 By:

BOC Minutes 12/12/12 Page 5

Board Office Administrator

Henry Heimuller, Commissioner